Skip to Content

Dr. Marla Erbin-Roesemann, Director, Professor

Marla Erbin-Roesemann, PhD, RN

Dr. Erbin-Roesemann earned her Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Master of Science in Nursing Health Services Administration, and PhD in Nursing, from the University of Michigan. In 2014, she completed the AACN Wharton Executive Leadership Fellows Program at the University of Pennsylvania. Prior to being recruited to Texas State University, she served as Professor and Dean of Nursing at Clarkson College in Omaha, NE. Her administrative and teaching experience spans over 25 years at the University of Michigan, Marymount University, George Mason University, Clarkson College and Texas State University. Dr. Erbin-Roesemann also has considerable experience in management and leadership roles outside of academe. Her expertise within academic leadership has been centered around the management of nursing curricula, faculty recruitment, innovative online nursing programs, and attainment of national accreditation. Under her leadership, Texas State has successfully developed one of the top undergraduate nursing programs in the state and continues to expand and develop their graduate program offering to include Leadership and Administration, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner and Family Nurse Practitioner to meet the nursing practice needs for the 21st century.

Since moving to Texas eleven years ago, Dr. Erbin-Roesemann has been active in nursing education in the state.  She is the chair of the education committee for the Texas Board of Nursing, a member of the Texas Nurses Association Education Committee, Past President of the Texas Association of Deans and Directors of Professional Nursing programs (TADDPNP) and current President for the Texas Organization of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Education (TOBGNE). Dr. Erbin-Roesemann is a member of the nursing innovation grant program advisory committee for The Higher Education Coordinating Board and co-chair of the Nursing Academic Practice Partnership sub- committee of the Health Workforce Alliance of Central Texas. At the community level, she serves on the Board of Directors for the St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center.

  • Work excitement
  • Nurse leader preparation
  • Building a culture of scholarly caring
  • Joy stealing


Received the Texas Nurses Association (TNA) District 5's "Fabulous 5 Nurses" award on May 7, 2016. Each year, five nurses from Central Texas are recognized with the ‘Fab 5’ award for excellence in one or more of the following areas:

  • Exceptional service
  • Leadership
  • Commitment to nursing science
  • Dedication to outstanding patient care

Completed the AACN-Wharton Executive Leadership Fellows Program in August 2014. Launched in 2012 in collaboration with the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, this world-class enrichment experience is designed exclusively for top academic leaders in schools of nursing. Using a competitive process, 30 academic nursing leaders were selected to participate in the AACN-Wharton program, which convened in Philadelphia, PA on August 11-14, 2014.

Has been invited to join the Steering Committee of the Texas Choosing Wisely Campaign--an initiative of the Texas Team Advancing Health through Nursing. Choosing Wisely®, is an initiative of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Foundation designed to spark conversations between providers and patients to ensure that the right care is delivered at the right time.

Was appointed to the Texas Nurses Association Education Committee.

Was elected Vice President of the Texas Association of Deans and Directors of Professional Nursing Programs (TADDPNP), which is an organization that represents all professional nursing programs in the state. Dr. Roesemann was nominated by her peers from the Texas Organization of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Education as the nominee from that organization and voted in by the membership of TADDPNP, which includes members from The Texas Organization of Associate Degree Nursing Education. She will serve as Vice President for 2013-2014 and then as President from 2014-2015.

Was the recipient of the first St. David's School of Nursing "Nurse of the Year " award given during our Nurses Week Open House on May 4, 2012. This award is given annually to a nurse nominated and voted for by the faculty of the St. David's School of Nursing. Dr. Roesemann was selected based upon her long nursing career and community service, her vision for the St. David's School of Nursing, and her caring nature towards students, faculty and staff. She embodies the qualities of an outstanding leader and compassionate nurse who works tirelessly to lead a new School and program into the future.